Seven Gators earn AP All-SEC honors

RB Mike Gillislee rushed for more than 1,000 yards and was named to the first-team All-SEC squad by the Associated Press.

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- After a remarkable turnaround in coach Will Muschamp's second year at the helm at Florida, the Gators were back to their normal status as one of the Southeastern Conference's top producers of premier players.

Seven players were named to All-SEC teams by the Associated Press on Wednesday afternoon, including a league-high six first-team selections. Mike Gillislee, Jordan Reed, Sharrif Floyd, Matt Elam, Caleb Sturgis and Kyle Christy were all named to the first team.

Cornerback Marcus Roberson was named to the second team.

Muschamp narrowly missed out on being named the Coach of the Year, with that honor instead going to Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin.

Florida also faced both of the conferences players of the year: Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel and Georgia LB Jarvis Jones.

Sturgis was the only player selected to any of the AP All-SEC teams a year ago, making the first team as a kicker. Jaye Howard was awarded an honorable mention for his 2011 season.

Skip To Comments

Already have an account? Sign In