In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 540
Online now 512 Record: 5026 (1/15/2014)
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
They said that they didn't ask him any questions the first time, not that they didn't tell him.
They ruled that there was no rule broken, so there was no need to ask him, and decided that before he even finished his round. Then once he finished they said 'hey we reviewed your drop, but you are good,' so he signed his card accordingly.
Then he went and made the comments about dropping it two yards back intentionally to the media, so the committee decided maybe he had broke the rule so they called him in to ask him questions this morning. After asking him questions they decided he had broken the rule based on his comments. However, they weren't going to go back and DQ him for signing an incorrect score card, since they had told him it was cleared.
The bottom line is nobody wants to see somebody get DQ'd over something like this, but Tiger should of known the rule and when informed of the rule should have assessed himself thd penalty
They didn't tell Tiger they reviewed his shot bc they determined first it was a legal drop so didn't feel the need to. Then they heard his interview and determined it wasn't a legal drop. The rule that saved him from being DQ'd was set up to keep stuff like this from happening bc players used to get DQ'd for signing incorrect scorecard every time, which was dumb to me
After that explanation
He should have been(edit) disqualified
This post was edited by DemGators 12 months ago
and that's why a lot of players and people want him to withdraw and don't agree with the rules officials to save him from a DQ. It falls on whether he broke the rule and knew it or he did something and didn't know that he broke the rule. They ruled he didn't know. Only Tiger truly knows the answer
Very interesting to say the least.
I was withholding my judgment until I watched the explanation at the beginning of the broadcast.
yea I agree. it's a new rule that hasn't really been used before now so everyone confused on how it works and what it protects against, so everyone has a different opinion on it.
That's a good perspective Scott. This may change a few things going forward. A good lesson for those that don't understand this game for sure. Lots of rules and even more self discipline and integrity
Greens are smoking fast today! Can't wait to see how the field shapes up
Yea when I first heard about it I didn't realize how big this ruling will impact DQ's in the future with incorrect scorecards.
I can't either bc scoring is easier today so should be quite a few making a run up the leader board
Tiger is lurking.... 3 shots back.
May have not been a penalty at all....
From Yahoo! Sports: Tiger Woods may have admitted to a violation he didn't actually commit.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports