In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 604
Online now 579 Record: 5026 (1/15/2014)
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
He probably could careless just not much less.
I saw it come across the bottom of ESPN.
Also on the Golf Channel.
This post was edited by CRgator1 12 months ago
According to what he said in his press conference he should be done. He dropped it behind where the ball was to gain an advantage. I guess they will go by how close he dropped it but no matter he wanted to land the ball a couple yards shorter so he backed up, he should have known that rule.
Question I have is where was the Rules Official for the Tourney when this happened?? Normally one around or consulted with prior to making a decision on a drop like this!!
If Tiger feels he's wrong, he will DQ himself. But the rules committee official must be held accountable for a gaff of this magnitude.
TV ratings will take a dive. Still hope Freddie wins!
I don't think the rules officials are supposed to offer advice, it's up to the player to ask. Normally a ball lands in the water in line from where you hit but this time cause it spun back it was a different angle. I agree though I think if Tiger thinks he broke the rule he will DQ himself. He didn't do it to cheat but he should of asked for help or thought about it a little more.
2 shot penalty; no DQ.
So he's 5 back now, still plays??
making a mountain over a mole hill.....ridiculous he's even be assessed a penalty...the walking judge said nothing...he didn't get "closer shot"...it's a drop it doesn't always fall the right way...2 shot penalty is a joke....this years masters will forever be talked bout because of the assessed penalties and not the actual golfers making great shots....
So rules of golf can be changed midstream
He openly admitted that he, purposely, took 2 steps back, or 2 yds, from the original spot.
It's not a new rule.
People who are whining about him not getting DQed need to get real with that bs. It's some crazy bs rule. He dropped the damn ball within 5 feet of the first one.
That's insane. He gained no advantage from it.
That's stupid. Dustin Johnson his out if a waste area in the PGA and grounded is club. Didn't know it was a bunker. He got a penalty on the last hole and list the tournament. This better set a precedent that signing a bad card doesn't get you DQ'd
Yes he did and admitted he did it for an advantage
I just want it to be the same ruling it would be if TJ Vogel did it.
Why wouldn't it be?
Because as far as I know this is the first tone anyone has signed a bad card and not been DQ'd and if it weren't Tiger Woods and he wasn't contending would it have been the same?
The rule was just amended in '12.
Well I don't know why there would even be a DQ question.
Its the masters it doesnt need tiger this is the first time in a long time tiger has been in the chase hes been maybe 5-6 back going into sundays but hes been hurt ot he didnt have a putting game or his wedge and iron play was bad.
Past few years its draw has been a good story you have a very close race right now on
moving day. This masters will be remembered for a good one. If freddy couples wins it will be as good as last year with bubba
It's a very vague rule with the harshest penalty in the game. The amendment to the rule is great especially when you've got hacks at home calling in trying to assess penalties after the fact. If the rules committee calls him on it when it happens or in the scoring tent right after the round, fine, but not the morning after when no one was even considering what he did a penalty.
This post was edited by NGAGator 12 months ago
Lol who is the one who down voted me for saying interest would drop without Tiger?
I agree with this and didn't know the rule had been amended. The rule definately needed to be changed.
I'm fine with the ruling now
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports