In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 540
Online now 583 Record: 5026 (1/15/2014)
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Starting to look that way. He supposedly took an illegal drop on 15. Rules committee is meeting now apparently.
This post was edited by dquasius 12 months ago
Wow this is catastrophic! The masters is over before it started.
What was illegal about it? Where are you seeing this?
From what I've read an illegal drop would give him a penalty of 2 strokes and make his round a 73 and not a 71. Since he signed a the score card as a 71 and not a 73 he would be DQ'd due to turning in the wrong score.
The illegal drop was dropping the ball more than the allotted distance from where it was suppose to be dropped.
Not positive about this, just what I read. Tifwiw
This post was edited by Palhaco1 12 months ago
All over twitter.
Here's two links though.
I guess he combined two rules on his drop, and Didnt follow either one specifically.
Another link below
As if Tigert get any more frustrating, Augusta officials are debating if he took an illegal drop on hole No. 15.
nm i see what you're saying
This post has been edited 2 times, most recently by SwampLife247 12 months ago
I read this elsewhere.
"Dropping it behind his original shot is fine. The problem is following the line. He hit the shot on the same line as the first shot, but apparently it should've been on the line of the ricochet into the water."
I see people drop in the same spot all the time. Is it illegal to hit the same shot? Weird.
If I understand the rule correctly you can drop as far back as you want but you have to keep the same angle.
I heard the interview and he clearly said he dropped a couple of yards behind his prior position. Then they showed his shot and the announcer is saying he dropped it behind the line his ball crossed the margin of the hazard. The rules allow one to either drop any distance behind where the ball crosses the margin or back at the spot you last struck the ball.
I think it may come down to whether the rules mean his ball cross the margin of the hazard the first time or the second time on that shot. If the rule means the first time it cross the hazard, then maybe he dropped close enough to the line of the ball crossed the hazard to be ok. If the rule means where it crossed the last time before it went into the hazard, ie after it hit the flag stick, I think they probably have to DQ him.
This post was edited by TheInstiGATOR 12 months ago
I'm not positive here, but this is my understanding.
You have to hit your shot on the same line in which is crossed into the hazard. Normally guys dropped from where they previously shot because they hit it on a line directly into the hazard.
Well Tigers ball ricocheted off the flag, and crossed into the hazard at a different angle because of the ricochet.
Tiger then shot from two yards back (which is legal) from the original line he hit his ball on. Supposedly, by rule, he was supposed to play it from the line in which it went into the water, which was a different line due to the ricochet. That is where he broke the rule.
I'm not positive here, so don't hold it against me, but that's my understanding from the twitter talk.
Correct. The issue is that some are pointing out that the angle is supposed to be the one that it crosses into the hazard at.
Because of the deflection the ball crossed into the hazard at a different angle than his original shot, but he played his drop from the angle of his original shot.
It is a combo of two rules, which is why people are debating it. But it appears a rule was broken. As a Tiger fan, I hope not.
Well it definitely came off at a different angle. That would be complete bs if the dq him. That is some kind of bs anomaly.
If there are any golf experts on here, feel free to correct me. As a Tiger Woods fan I'd love to be wrong, and very well may be.
I'm trying to decipher all this from twitter and a few rule books/articles while heavily intoxicated.
I agree. Plus my interest would go from a 10 to about a 4-5.
I really am hoping for a Tiger win.
i dont think i would watch it. Bubba is out and i guess i would pull for Rose. But i wouldnt watch.
Agreed. The masters would become pretty much pointless for me to watch without Tiger.
You have two choices:
1. Drop the ball where you hit your last shot.
2. Drop the ball anywhere on the line where it crossed the margin of the hazard no closer to the hole.
Woods according to what he said may have confused the two rules and not followed either of them.
Why isn't it on ESPN? Did OP start the same thread on the MB, or is that where you're getting it from? If it happens, the Masters is over for me.
This post was edited by SmashingMilfs 12 months ago
CBS is reporting it.
Could careless if tiger isn't playing he's one of my least favorite golfers
Good for you-however, no Tiger means a drastic drop in viewership.
Nobody pulling for Freddie? I haven't heard anything about this rules violation yet but Toger knows the rules better than anyone out there and should be DQ'd if he signed a bad scorecard. Which is a stupid rule but a rule nonetheless.
Wait I am confused. You could careless if Tiger is not playing, but you don't like him very much.
Pretty sure you meant couldn't careless.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports